Genie out of the bottle?

#13

Welcome to the news round up of the last seven days. Yet another full week to report on. Here are some of the more interesting stories…

News

Genie out of the bottle?: In perhaps the most stark warning of the power of AI and robotics yet, Geoffrey Hinton, the Godfather of AI and former head of Google Brain, told CBS’s 60 Minutes in the US that AI could take over soon if we don’t act quickly. Watch it here

Israel using AI to counter Hamas in Gaza conflict: Israel suffered little damage despite a surprise attack of over 3000 missiles being fired on it by Hamas. The Iron Dome system, a rocket interceptor system powered by AI, neutralised practically all of the missiles before they could cause harm. Read about it here

JP Morgan CEO claims AI will be used everywhere: In a candid interview JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon claims that AI will infuse all of the banks operations across every sector. Get the lowdown here

UK in race against time to agree AI statement: The upcoming AI Safety Summit at Bletchley Park in November is putting a pressured deadline on UK government to agree a communique with other global powers on forming a body to tackle safety concerns. Read about the challenges here

AI Tool Report

I haven’t reviewed that many tools thins week, but the one that stuck out for me was called Meetz AI. This is a fully GDPR compliant cold outreach tool that fully integrates with your sales stack. It makes outbound calls on your behalf and then patches you in when somebody answers the cold call. It even integrates with Spotify and will pause your music or podcast when a prospect comes on the line. Best of all? An AI assistant named Laura does all the follow up to get a slot in the diaries of all participants of the booked meeting. Find out more and have a test drive at www.meetz.ai

Prompts

ChatGPT as QS?

I used the following prompt to help me super quickly do a take off of materials for a wall that I was getting built last week. You can change the parameters to have it calculate anything for you in rapid time. This saved me half an hour of tedious work.

I need to build a concrete block wall. The wall measures 7 metres long and is 3 metres high. In the wall i need to allow for the following openings: 1 door at 900mm x 2100mm and two windows, one at 700mm x 1200mm and one at 1400mm x 1200mm. The openings will have concrete lintels above that need to rest 150mm on either side of the opening. The wall will be built from 100mm concrete blocks with wall ties back to a timber frame structure at 450mm vertical centres and 900mm horizontal centres. The mortar will be a ratio of 1:4 (cement:sand) Please give me the quantities of block, sand and cement as well as concrete lintols for the openings and wall ties required

Something else that I use AI for is in the kitchen. I tell it the ingredients that I have and the time I’ve got and let it work its magic. Try this (but change the ingredient list obviously!)

I have the following ingredients in my fridge: chicken breast x 2, red onion and half a red pepper. I also have usual store cupboard ingredients like pasta, rice, stocks, herbs, tinned tomatoes etc. I want to make a meal for two people in less than an hour. What is the best recipie and method? Please display measurements in metric

I ended up with a delicious chicken pasta dish in about 40 minutes. I probably could have gotten there myself, but it is an exercise of a minute or so to write the prompt. With the upcoming ChatGPT-4V all I’d need to do is take a picture of the inside of the fridge and it’d take it from there! Not available in Europe yet but coming very soon. You’ll get the full lowdown here when it hits.

In the words of Bugs Bunny, thats all folks! See you at the weekend